Recent Stories | SierraSun.com

Recent Stories in Opinion

Bob Sweigert: Trump right to withdraw from Iran nuclear deal

May 18, 2018 — Trump right to withdraw from Iran nuclear deal The terms and history of the Iran deal don't matter to me. Trump was right to withdraw from it on principle alone. It is unjustifiable to enter into an agreement and a pretense of hope with leaders

Learn more »

Lynn Booth: Thanks for community support of schools

May 18, 2018 — Thanks for community support of schools On Monday, May 7, I turned on my computer to discover that the Google doodle was acknowledging Teacher Appreciation Week. As an educator who began teaching in 1976 in a resurrected quonset hut left over from World War II

Learn more »

Law Review: Porter’s (humble) June 5 election recommendations

May 18, 2018 — Believe it or not, quite a few of you ask for my voting recommendations for elections, so here we go with Placer and Nevada counties, as well as statewide propositions. Nevada County will be participating in the brand new California Voter's Choice Act, so whether

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Back to the future

May 18, 2018 — Hmm, how to start? "We listened!" Maybe a little smarmy or glad-handy. How about: "Well, Truckee Sun indeed turned out to be New Coke." Too cliché? "OK, fine, Sierra Sun it is and forevermore will be. Whatever." Nah, too cranky. There are always the classics

Learn more »

Clem Shute: Remembering Bill Morgan

May 16, 2018 — We at the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency are mourning the passing of Bill Morgan. In the pantheon of people who have contributed mightily to the agency's success, Bill is in the top tier. He was executive director from April 1, 1985 to Sept. 30, 1989,

Learn more »

Jo Ann Rebane: Doing the math on mental illness and homelessness

May 14, 2018 — Editor's note: This is the third in a series of columns discussing the impact of mental illness on the issue of homelessness in western Nevada County. Understanding any social problem depends on understanding its related numbers. Changes should not be made until it is known

Learn more »

Diana Hitchen: An intelligent, yet simple solution to climate crisis

May 11, 2018 — The Earth Day editorial in last week's edition "Fishing for a Big Catch" by Don Rogers did an excellent job explaining the Citizens Climate Lobby's philosophy and use of political will to nudge Rep. Tom McClintock toward joining the Climate Solutions Caucus. I thought the

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Paper tariff won’t help US

May 11, 2018 — Lord knows, this has been drilled into my head: A newspaper's two greatest expenses are people and paper. For now anyway, cheap robots can't handle much of the people work, much as at least a few readers think they'd prefer robotic reporting — that is,

Learn more »

Pine Nuts: Making the most of your last words

May 11, 2018 — Having just matched Mark Twain's longevity last week, I was prompted to ponder what my last words might be. His, according to one source, were to his daughter Clara, "If we meet …" Thus leaving the door open to a life hereafter. Earlier on, addressing

Learn more »

Law Review: Brokers: Get it in writing

May 11, 2018 — Every real estate broker knows that he/she must have a written agreement to be paid a commission. Nevertheless occasionally brokers are too lax or too trusting to dot that "i" and cross that "t" in a written fee agreement with their principal, and should that

Learn more »

Greg Diaz: The future of voting is now

May 7, 2018 — Elections in Nevada County have been trending toward voting by mail for a long time. Let's look at some numbers that are quite revealing. In the November 2016 Presidential Election, 77.6 percent of county registered voters applied to be vote-by-mail voters; 53,499 of 68,829 registered

Learn more »

Carla Holtzclaw: Foster ‘transition team’ will transform culture of Sheriff’s Office

May 3, 2018 — Shannon Moon and Bill Smethers have each disparaged John Foster's proposed transition team, misunderstanding that it is not about "hitting the ground running" by doing the same old thing. John's transition team is also not about him learning the Sheriff's Office operations. Rather the "Transition

Learn more »

Steve Frisch: Jessica Morse is right choice for Congress

May 3, 2018 — I am honored and proud to personally endorse Jessica Morse as our next representative in California's 4th Congressional District. Our district needs new leadership. We need leadership that understands the challenges our region faces creating jobs, building stronger communities, stewarding the environment, managing forests, providing

Learn more »

Theresa May Duggan: Jessica Morse complete package for Congress

May 3, 2018 — There's a lot of energy in our local Congressional District. For the first time in years we have a candidate who will challenge the incumbent. Jessica Morse is the complete package. She's an experienced professional, earning the respect of her peers, several of whom joined

Learn more »

Law Review: Dangerous condition of public property law vs. trail immunity law

May 3, 2018 — Today we have a fun case to discuss. It involves two seemingly unrelated laws you should know about. Public agencies are liable if they maintain a dangerous condition on their (public) property, while, on the other hand, public agencies are not liable for injuries caused

Learn more »

Don Rogers: So far, so good?

May 3, 2018 — We're two months in with the Truckee Sun, a finger snap. Feedback so far suggests readers approve of a turn toward more genuinely local news, a greater effort to get in community announcements, and knowledge the paper and website won't cut out the lakeshore towns

Learn more »

Deirdre Henderson: Citizens Climate Lobby building political will for solutions

April 26, 2018 — Citizens Climate Lobby building political will for solutions In his Earth Day publisher's column in the April 20 edition, Don Rogers captured the respectful, patient, persistent way Citizens Climate Lobby volunteers go about building political will for climate change solutions. We are grateful for the

Learn more »

Don Rogers: A way of life

April 26, 2018 — Speed skier Steve McKinney attracted a thousand people to a party for him — 28 years after he died. The proximate reason was him gaining entrance into the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame, but this wasn't the highfalutin' induction ceremony. This was before

Learn more »

Law Review: Olivia de Havilland sues over miniseries ‘Feud: Bette and Joan’

April 26, 2018 — Actress Olivia de Havilland is a 101-year-old living legend now residing in Paris. FX Network is the creator and producer of the television miniseries "Feud: Bette and Joan," a docudrama about film stars and close friends Bette Davis and Joan Crawford. 2017 DOCUDRAMA In March

Learn more »

Rolf Godon: More local news, less filler

April 19, 2018 — When the name of the Sierra Sun was recently changed to the Truckee Sun the promise was for a more "local" newspaper. To a degree that has been so. However, there is way to much "filler." For example, a nearly full page of comics, another

Learn more »